In love with my natural coils!

26 May

Hey dolls, I just wanted to post a blog about my fashion choices as well as my journey with  natural hair.  Like my sister, I too have always had natural hair but have recently began learning how to really take care of it.  I never really added much heat to it (other than blow drying) but it was overstyled. I used to braid and twist my hair constantly, never giving it a break so my hair was just exhausted.  Finally later on I noticed that my sister’s hair started to look healthier, curlier and just downright luxurious.  So I asked her what her secret was and thats when she told me about the feistyhouse. It changed my hairs life lol!  Afterwards I began to vist the site regularly and began taking better care of my hair.  At first length was the main goal for me, but as of lately I’ve just really been diggin the health of my hair more than the length.  Its softer and more manageable, I JUST LOVE MY NATURAL HAIR!!!!  The more natural products you use in your hair the better.  Stay away from products that include petroleum or harsh sulfates names that are difficult to pronounce lol.   I prefer using organic poducts in my hair. My absolute favorite hair products include Dr. bonners peppermint castille soap (which has organic oils), Herbal Essence Long Term Relationship, and last but not least my sisters shea butter mixture.  Ladies, ladies, ladies…this women has created what I like to call hair crack! Yes I said it, it’s literally crack for your hair!  Its the secret we natural sistahs have been searching for when it comes to keeping our hair moisturized when its left out (puffs, braidouts, afros etc). Its a wonderful mixture of cantu shea butter, followed by glycerin and castor oil for shine!  Definately some amazing stuff!  Anyway, here are a few pics of my hair and styles that I’ve tried along the way.  Leave comments for the hairstyles that catch your eye so that I can post tutorials for the most commented.

This was during my consistant blowdrying phase. Also this is the time I accidentally got my eyebrows overtweezed. My dad said they looked like Nike checks!

 

This was a twist out. I had my hair in tiny twists and took them out when the twists got stale. It left me with soft, defined curls. I kept my hair moisturized with coconut oil for the days I had it was twisted.

 

Now where getting some where! For this style I had in bantu knots (chiney bumps) the night before and took them out the following morning. I added a flower to give some pizzaz to the whole look.

 

My infamous faux hawk. I did this look for New years and was very pleased with the outcome.

bantu knots out lol!

My curly updo. I was ridin them waves lol!

Twist out updo.

One Response to “In love with my natural coils!”

  1. DeAngela May 28, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Hey gurl. My favorite hair do is the twist!!!!! I love it, it looks so good on you:) I also like the one with the yellow flower n the purple on. I feel u though on not using the bad products cuz all there doing is literally damaging our hair! can’t wait for mo of ur blogs:)

Leave a Reply

