This is how I feel about washing my hair…..

13 Jun

So, today was a really bad day….why? Because I had to wash my frikin hair! Now, I must admit, I am probably one of the nastiest people on the planet when it comes to washing my hair, but in my defense, it is a day long process.  Nevertheless, I sucked it up and washed my hair today. As you can see from the above picture, I was less than enthused. I figured that this would be an awesome opportunity to do a tutorial so that newly natural dolls and/or experienced natural dolls can get some ideas and maybe try something new! Ok, so first things first, I like to start with Dr. Bronners Peppermint Castile Soap to cleanse my hair of all the grease and ickies that build up in it (especially when I decide not to wash it for like 3 weeks). I love this soap because it is so minty and the bottle has lotsa interesting things to read! It would be wonderful reading material while one is washing their hair, but the peppermint in the shampoo is so strong, you have to keep your eyes tightly shut or the minty suds will burn the shit out of you! I know this from experience! lol! Anyways, your scalp will tingle with minty freshness. You can get it at any whole foods or vitamin store. Vitamin World sells it for sure! It’s phenomenal!

Next, I do a second wash with Optimum Shampoo. It smells so sexy, y’all! It has olive oil, avocado oil and lots of other moisturizer to help your hair stay soft and manageable. This shampoo takes really well to my hair after the inital wash with the castile soap because my hair just sops up all the good stuff this second shampoo has to offer. It’s like 5 bucks at Wal-Mart, in the “black folks hair product” section.

Third step is a condition and comb out with the accompanying conditioner. This stuff is so creamy and thick, it works wonders for combing through hair in the shower, lemme  tell ya!

After I comb through with conditioner I leave the conditioner on my hair and add warm olive oil to my hair for added moisture. I slap on three (yes three) shower caps and a Rastafarian hat and go do something else. I left it in for like 2 hours today. The longer I leave it in, the more it soaks in. This works for me. It may not work for everyone else though. As I was combing out my hair, I noticed that I am shedding über bad. I know it’s because I don’t do low manipulation hairstyles and washing as often as I should, but not that I’ve seen this, I am going to. My hair is growing fast, but if I don’t start doing low manipulation hairstyles like braids and start washing my hair regularly, it’s going to be all for nothing :-(.

Thank God I have alot of hair, or I'd be bald, yo.

After the deep treatment. I washed out my hair with cold water, but left them in the twists so that my hair wouldn’t tangle. As you can see from the below picture, I am still not pleased with this damn hair washing thing.

Anyways, after my hair was clean and ready to be styled, I had my fiancée grease my scalp with DooGro. This stuff makes my hair grow like weeds!

I then began styling my hair with my natural creamy crack mixture that Sherica mentioned in an earlier post. I will do a post on my formula once I perfect it ;-).

The style below is what I will keep my hair in until thursday when Sherica re-styles it. Let me know what you think! There will be more posts tomorrow when I get home from church. I hope you enjoyed my post and found it useful. I will be back soon! Stay gorgeous dolls! 

10 Responses to “This is how I feel about washing my hair…..”

  1. Kermina June 13, 2010 at 4:31 am #

    So I can’t say that this post was personally helpful but the pics were certainly entertaining lol Nd the shampoo got me thinking. My hair gets so frizzy and dry maybe the oil therapy might help once a month or so. My hair doesn’t get naturally oily very quickly like a lot of other people so maybe that shampoo might help. Just a thought.

    • shatterproofglassdolls June 13, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

      It may work actually! I wouldnt recommend letting the conditioner sit in year hair for 2 hours, but the shampoo may do wonders for your hair. Sherica and I are discussing how to do giveaways. Maybe you can be our first winner?

      • Kermina June 14, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

        Woohoo!! Lol

  2. Deangela June 19, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    I luv ur hairstlye!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! afta reading ur blog am considering washing my hair with the products u recommend. well i cnt wait for the nxt blog:)

  3. Afro Fly July 28, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    Damn the hairstyle is so cute !!

  4. PrissyKryssi July 28, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    I wandered over here from bglhonline.com and LOL!! I used to feel that way about washing my hair too– and I have a perm! I was going to a hairdresser to avoid the trouble. Lucky for me, I bowed to the pressure of QVC one late night and picked up a bottle of WEN. I haven’t looked back since, and I also needed a hairdresser no longer. Best of all…(drum roll please)…I’m going natural(which I never imagined I would be able to do before)! I haven’t been able to stop talking it up; I urge you to try it once. If it’s not for you, you can go back to your regimen but at least you can say “I tried this”. You guys are funny and fabulous and inspiring, keep up the good work.

    • shatterproofglassdolls July 28, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Thanks so much for the kind words! I will have to try this WEN stuff….what is it exactly? Anything that will make washing my h air more tollerable is worth a shot. Please come back soon!

      • PrissyKryssi August 2, 2010 at 12:12 am #

        See, I’m back!! WEN definitely made washing my hair fun, so much so that I wash it on a weekly basis. It’s also growing like a weed and it’s thicker than it’s ever been. It’s actually marketed as a “cream cleanser” which takes the place of your shampoo, conditioner and leave in. What it IS (as far as my experience goes)is a sulfate-free shampoo. It tingles and leaves my hair feeling clean but doesn’t dry it out. There are 4 or 5 different kinds(or “flavors”)that yield different results, depending on your hair’s texture. It costs $30 a bottle but is well worth the money. My sis and I share and it lasts about 2 months. If there is anything else you need to know just ask I’ll be happy to share.

      • shatterproofglassdolls August 2, 2010 at 12:41 am #

        YAY! Welcome back! What took you so long? Lol….just kidding. I will give this WEN stuff a try and report back!

Leave a comment