How to: my curly fro that was featured on Black Girl Long Hair.

28 Jul

  Hey dolls,  I wanna start off by thanking everyone on the bglhonline.com team who made it possible for me to share my joy in natural hair to the world.  I’d also like to thank all the ladies that left those beautiful and encouraging comments, thank you!  However, there were some specific comments on my curly fro featured above that some of the ladies requested a tutorial on.  Well here it is, enjoy!:

This curly fro was actually the result of a braid out.  I had braided my hair in small individual plaits prior to and had left them in for two weeks for protective styling.  When I finally took them out, I moisturized my fro using my sister’s “creamy crack” mixture of cantu shea butter, glycerin, and castor oil.    However that is how I was able to acheive it on my hair and  how I was able to get such well defined curls.   I was able to maintain my curly fro by braiding it into 6 sections before going to bed, making sure that each section is moisturized especially at the ends. Then the next morning, I’d take out each individual braid, spritz my hair with water, and pick out my fro using an afro pick to make the fro fuller. Ta daaaa! the end results were fabulous:

You can also try a wash & go though I cant promise the same defintion in curls or a regular braid out (using medium sized braids) and follow the same steps mentioned above!  I am not sure that your curls will be as well defined as mine were as all natural divas have differntly textured hair.  Hope this helps dolls!!!

7 Responses to “How to: my curly fro that was featured on Black Girl Long Hair.”

  1. Uniqzoe July 28, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Thanks for the tutorial. I loved the BGLH story. Please do a tutorial on the picture with flower also.

  2. Takeysha July 28, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    THANKS!!!..ill be trying this VERY soon…your hair is soo FIERCE!!!!…i may try ya sis’ “creamy crack” too..i hope i get the same results..stay fly :)))…**Takeysha**

  3. MDL July 28, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    I linked here through your BGLH interview post, congrats! Really, I just wanted to drop a line for both you and your sister letting you know that your blog is fabulous and fun to read, keep up the good work!

    • shatterproofglassdolls July 28, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the love mama! We really appreciate it. Please dont let this be your last visit : D. We’ve got so many exciting new blogs and events coming up so stay tuned. NATURAL SISTAHS ROCK!!!lol you know I’m crazy.

      • nattybumbum July 29, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

        Saw you on the BGLH site and oohhh my gosh i love your hair… so much soo i’m putting a pic on my blog hope you don’t mind. I’m gonna keep popping by as i’m the blog too🙂 x

      • shatterproofglassdolls July 30, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

        Not a problem. Thanks for the shout out on your blog, really appreciate it mama!

Leave a Reply

