Our Doll On Display for the Month of August: Bisola

1 Aug

Hey dolls! We are proud to present our very first natural and unapologetically fierce doll on display, Bisola! I met Bisola when I was a student at USF and always loved how beautiful and glowing her skin was. When she smiled her entire being just glowed from the inside out. Bisola has been natural since then and is currently working on a book that will document her natural hair journey. I am so proud that she has agreed to be our first face of natural beauty!

 Where do you live and what do you do?
I currently live in Michigan and the question is what don’t I do. I am a woman of God, wife, mother, student, worker, hair connoisseur, activist, soon to be business owner, friend, and sex kitten (oops should have left that one out lol).

 
What were your family’s reaction to you going natural?
I had great support from my family, this is the second and finally time of me going natural. My sister was a little hesitant because I use to be a weave queen. All in all I had great support from the family. The only shocker to them was I did the BIG BC and they were not use to me having no hair.

 
What is one hair product that you cannot do without?
Coconut oil I absolutely adore this.

 
Do you have any hair wisdom you’d like to share with other natural beauties?

Yes, Naturals be one with your self, wearing your natural hair is like having the sexiest pair of heels on. It make you feel good strut with confidence. Embrace the hair that God gave you, you should never compare your hair let along yourself to others. Being an individual is most important. Research and be one with your natural hair.

 
 What is your original hair regimen?

In the beginning I was a PJM (product junkie maniac), I soon found out that my hair didn’t really need certain ingredients. My weekly regimen consist of

Shampoo my hair (using SheaMoisture or Curls) Before shampooing I typically use tea tree oil with deionized water and spray it all over my hair for a prepoo. Next I would use my Giovanni Conditioner to saturate and detangle, then shampoo. For my hair now I prefer sulfate free shampoos and shampoos that are more creamer like conditioners.

I use three types of leave in conditioners (depending on the weather and hairstyle)

Homemade Leave-In

I mixed in a 12oz spray bottle aloe vera juice, grape seed oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, deionized water, coconut oil, and any leave in conditioner of my choice.

Carols Daughter Black Vanilla Leave-In

SheaMoisture Leave In Conditioner

Sealants for my ends:

I am a big fan of my coconut oil, castor oil, and honey mixture. I find that my ends are healthier and less vulnerable to breakage.

Deep Conditioning:

I typically alternate every week. I use mostly homemade deep conditioning treatments:

Raw sheabutter (melted)
Coconut Oil
Avocado Oil and 1/2 Avocado
Olive Oil
Aubrey Rosesuckle Conditioner and/or Oyin HoneyHemp Conditioner (this homemade I use a lot during the winter months)

My hair loves protein so a lot of the regular conditioners I use on alternating weeks are protein based:

Aubrey GPB
Or SheaMoisture Deep Conditoner Hair Mask (with egg/mayo)

I do overnight deep conditioning or if I am lazy I typically set under my hooded dryer or steam for 20 to 30 minutes

What made you decide to go natural?
I just got tired on the mundane. I mean growing up I didn’t start perming my hair until the 7th grade, but it was tortuous. I never healthy when it was permed, but when I became learning about the chemicals that it take to make perms, certain shampoos, weave glues I just about died. I’m not stating everything I put in my hair is 100% natural but I try to come as close as possible.

Who do you look up to for hair inspiration if anyone?
When I went natural the 2nd time I was working for a place called Natural Trendsetters (I was permed then I know a big oxymoron) but all the natural women that came in there, there was a certain confidence they carried and I admired that completely. I was still a little scarred. November of 2008 I stopped perming and February of 2009 I BC’d!!

Bisola's 1 year anniversary puff...GIRL YOU BETTER WORK IT!

2 Responses to “Our Doll On Display for the Month of August: Bisola”

  1. Bisola August 1, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Aww thanks Love!!! I am proud to share my experience with all the naturals in the world!

    • shatterproofglassdolls August 1, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      You’re welcome! It was an honor! Let me know when you finish your book so we can post that too!

Leave a Reply

