Midnight: A Gangster Love Story

21 Aug

Good Morning dolls!  Read any good books lately?  Well I for one love to read (especially urban fiction) ever since I was in elementary school.  Unfortunately  I dropped reading after a while though I’m not sure why. I probably got too busy with school, boys and friends.  However, realizing that it was naturally comfortable and mentally stimulating for me whenever I picked up a book,  I’ve decided to take up reading once again and have gotten into some great books!  Any reader of urban literature or fan of hip hop culture is well aware of who Sister Souljah is and if they don’t know her they know her books, specifically the Coldest Winter Ever.  I loooved that book lol!  I enjoyed its grittiness, authenticity and frequent references to hip hop culture!  I enjoyed it so much that when I found out there a follow up book based on one of its main characters Midnight, I immediately went to the local book store and like a feind started attacking their shelves.  I never found it that day though😦, the bookstore in my area isn’t that diverse in their literature if you know what I mean.  however I recently made a trip to Books A Million as a treat to myself and there its was on the second shelf of urban fiction.

Now I’m no where near finished with this book, in fact I just opened it.  But you know when you read a book and by the first 2 chapters you already know whats up?  Well this is one of those books.  Any book that speaks of and lifts up the black man in a positive way I’m all for and I love how this book seems to be doing that so far!  I’ll keep you ladies posted on the book as I read on…leaving out all the juicy details that is.  I don’t wanna rob you of your hype and excitement when you pick it up lol.

2 Responses to “Midnight: A Gangster Love Story”

  1. ck September 29, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    hmm looks nice i love reading too have to atleast read 3 books aweek lol ba was it a nice book cuz i guess by now u would have finished reading the book

    • shatterproofglassdolls September 29, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

      Yup I sure did and it was one of the best books I’ve read this year (and I’m no where near finished reading for this year)!!!!!! Definately worth getting! I just finished Addicted by Zane and am now on a Carl Weber book titled ” So You call Yourself a Man.” Wait a min….I’m over here talking to you about Zane books, how old are you lol?!!!!!

Leave a Reply

