Tree Braids by Ethina and her Strands of Beauty Staff!

25 Aug

 

 Hello dolls! I’ve been getting quite a few compliments and inquires about my wedding hair and thought I would do a plug for my braider Ethina! Ethina owns a fabulous braiding salon in Atlanta, Georgia called Strands of Beauty, and they specialize in a really cool braiding technique called tree braiding! Tree braiding is a little too complex for me to even  try to explain, but your hair is braided down and strands of weave are braided in and pulled through the plaits making a sort of” track”, if you will. It’s a really cool option if you want braids because it gives you the freedom to switch up your hairstyles, just like you would with micros, but without the risk of tearing out your hair. Strands of Beauty’s slogan is “Done right, not tight” and it’s true! Tree braids make an awesome resting style and is great if you’re trying to grow your hair out. I’ve found that my hair grows like weeds when I have them in tree braids! Even though Strands of Beauty is based out of the ATL, they also travel to Orlando, Washington DC and Charlotte NC every 8 weeks or so to serve their faithful clientele there too! In fact, Ethina and her braiders will be in Orlando this weekend and are still accepting appointments if anybody in the central Florida area is interested! They are SO reasonable and convenient. $150 gets your hair braided and includes the hair! The ladies are so nice and professional and they braid very quickly too! I chose tree braids for my wedding  because I didn’t want to have the stress of having to figure out what to do with it the day of. My hair is so temperamental that it’s gorgeous and compliant today and gorgeous  yet rebelious tomorrow. That was a risk I was NOT willing to take, lol. I didn’t want risk heat damage by pressing it and in the humid Florida heat, that would’ve been an epic fail anyways. I would be a hot frizzy mess by sunset. Tree braids were perfect for me because I was able to style them for my wedding day, and 30 more times on my honeymoon. I still have them in and they are FABULOUS! Anywhoo, give Ethina click, here’s her website http://strandsofbeauty.com/default.aspx and her Myspace page http://www.myspace.com/treebraidsbyethena. She has some gorgeous pictures of her work on both sites! Treat yourselves to some tree braids and tell her Taneica sent ya! Till next time, stay fabulous dolls! 

My mommy styling my hair on my wedding day🙂

That's me and the handsome hubby in our first portrait as husband and wife

Another portrait and another hairstyle with the tree braids. Handsome couple, eh?

I let my hair down for our rehearsal dinner

Ethina and I at her salon in Georgia

5 Responses to “Tree Braids by Ethina and her Strands of Beauty Staff!”

  1. junie August 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    please let us know the date she is coming to Florida in advance, and do we get a discount?

    • shatterproofglassdolls August 27, 2010 at 1:24 am #

      Hi mom! She will be in the Orlando area on the 28th and 29th of this month. This weekend actually. She offers a referal discount, but that’s it.

  2. Allegra September 18, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    She did a wonderful job on your braids. What type of hair did you use. Was it the Bonne Body Wave Switch. You look really wonderful!

    • shatterproofglassdolls September 18, 2010 at 7:37 am #

      Thank you! I am unsure what kind of hair was used, all I know is that it was synthetic…so sorry😦

  3. Jennifer December 13, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    These pictures are GREAT and have certainly given me some hairstyle inspiration. I think your hair is Bonne Body Wave Switch since it is the only kind I’ve used. However, I can’t seem to figure ot the best way to take care of this hair. Any tips would be appreciated

Leave a Reply

