Hendigo or no go?

11 Sep

 

Hello dolls! I have been going back and forth, researching and checking out different ways to dye my hair. Right now my hair is black but has a brownish tint in the sun. I want to darken it to a jet black with a dark blue tint in the sun. I have checked out rinses, but can’t read half of the crap on the back of the bottle! I think that henna and indigo are the way to go because of the strengthening properties in the henna and, well, it’s more natural than the alternatives! I am scared. I know that it’s permanent, but I really think that I can pull the look off and get hooked! I also am hoping that it may be really good for my hair. I have really been researching, but don’t know any women with natural hair who have tried this. Any dolls out there with experiences or suggestions?!?!?!?

P.S. I ordered the henna and the indigo and am waiting for it to arrive so I can get this over with already….sigh

-Taneica:-)

7 Responses to “Hendigo or no go?”

  1. junie September 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    PERMANENT!!! PERMANENT!!! just think of that word.Permanent color usually breaks hair natural or other . Most of the time it will break your hair to the point where you just have to cut it extreamly low, and just wait for it to grow, and when it grows back it usually coarse. why dont you try some rinse? Just a suggestion and I also new it first hand.

    • shatterproofglassdolls September 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

      yea…the permanence of it all is kind of scary, but from what I’ve researched, henna and indigo are both natural and from the earth, so the don’t cause damage to the hair. Henna also strengthens hair. I see what your saying about it being permanent and having permanent effects. It would suck to have to cut all of my hair off….

  2. Nakita September 14, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Imma try the Hanna on my hair. I got a brown one. It’s better than dying your hair cause it don’t damage your hair.

    • shatterproofglassdolls September 14, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      I’m waiting for the dye to get here so I can do a sample test first….still a little scared…lol

  3. imagemaven September 16, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    Hey, thanks for visiting my blog! I really appreciate it. Although I didnt try the indigo I have tried the Heena treatment. I personally loved it. It really weighed down and elongated my curls. My hair is already dyed permanent jet black so i obviously didnt see any color change. I used the Heena for its conditioning properties, but my roots are my natural dark brown color and the heena did leave a slightly darker, reddish tint.

    As for hair color I use this stuff called bigen. Its got no ammonia or peroxide in it, so its pretty safe for the hair. Here is the site just in case you are looking for it near you http://bigen-usa.com/ The only thing is that if you are dying your whole head you are definitely going to need at least 3 boxes. There is not a lot in each box. If you plan to always keep your hair black, I would go for it! If you think you might try to dye it lighter in the near future, I wouldnt do it b/c Henna is VERY permanent and a B**** to get out.

  4. shatterproofglassdolls September 16, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Bigen has blue black! That’s what I’ve been looking for!Your blog is hella fab! Please come back and visit us soon…fellow wordpress blogger!
    -Taneica:-)

  5. imagemaven September 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Aww thanks! I will. Imma subscribe right now!

Leave a Reply

