Long Live the Kinky Twists

30 Sep

Hey Dolls!!!  I should be feeling defeated right now but in all honesty…I dont.  Remember how I said I was gonna wait until Oct to take my kinky twist out?  Well I had a  change of heart on that one.  Turns out I had way too much grease and dirt build up around my roots to wait for Oct. to come.  It was absolutely horrific!!!!  On top of all of that, MY HAIR STARTED TO LOC!  I had to go through each individual partition and comb  them out, one by one.  The build up was so bad, that after 2 washes with Dr. Bonners castille soap, my hair was still left feeling sticky and filled with gunk!  Thank God for the little bit of hair knowledge that I do have.  Because of it I knew to take refuge in my Apple CiderVinegar rinse to cleanse my scalp from all that ickiness lol!  Boy did it help! After applying the vinegar to my hair, I covered it with a shower cap and let it soak in for 5 mins instead of the regular 3. 

My hair after the vinegar rinse. I was waaaay to embarrassed to display the before pictures lol. Trust me....it was baaad!

   After I rinsed (using cold water) I conditioned my hair with Herbal Essense: Drama Clean  and afterwards deep conditioned with Giovanni’s Deep Moisture conditioner.  I left the deep conditioner in my hair for about 6 hrs (I ment business).  I had things to do though, so I covered my hair with 2 shower caps, one beanie and paired it with gold hoop earrings to make the look presentable.

When I got back home, I rinsed my hair out and sprayed Giovanni’s leave in conditioner on my scalp and hair and ran my fingers through it for even distibution.  Overall my hair didnt exactly get worse, but it didnt get better either.  By the time I finished coming out all the gunk that locked around my hair, I ended up losing more than a couple of strands anyway. *sigh*  My hair will get back to its natural luxurious state someday.  I’LL NEVER GIVE UP HOPE lol!!!!  What have we learned today children?  Maybe oiling your scalp every day while not keeping up with bi weekly hair washing during protective styling is just as bad as people say it is!

Leave a Reply

