No Wedding, No Womb

4 Oct

  So this morning while doing my daily web stalking,  I came across this semi article on Essence.com.  It spoke about a new online movement called ” No Wedding, No Womb” which seeks to address single parenthood in the African- American community, by advocating two- parenthood households.  What are your feelings about this new movement?  Please share!

A.

B. resent this campaign. It’s my womb, I can do what I want with it

C.

11 Responses to “No Wedding, No Womb”

  1. ck October 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I BElieve that A singelmotherhood is a problem expecially when bringing up a boy he needs a father to teach him how to be a man. And children need time with their parents but when a single mother is working 3 jobs it is hard for her to have time for her children. But then i can also say that some of men in top positions such as BARACK OBAMA where brought up by single mothers.

  2. kingsmomma October 4, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I’m going to side with C although i agree that out of wedlock births are an issue in the black community.
    My problem in saying single motherhood is a problem within the comminity is the diction. Rather than say absentee fathers are a problem much blame is placed upon the shoulders of single mothers. As a single mother I’m Dam*ed tired of men getting away with murder while the single mother remains ostracized for doing her best. On the surface, no one knows her story and yet everyone thinks they do.

    • shatterproofglassdolls October 5, 2010 at 12:10 am #

      I understand where your coming from @ kingsmomma. I cant really speak for all single mothers and what they have to go through raising a child on their own b/c I’m not a single mother myself. However, I have many female friends (majority of them actually) who have been raised by single mothers, and though they’ve grown to be strong, independent women not having a a father in their life has been quite challenging on their upbringing at some points. Everyone’sentitled to their own opinions though, and you’ve made some very valid points! For me personally, I would rather raise my child in a two parent household the same as I was. Thats all I know!!! Plus it naturally takes two people to make a baby so it naturally helps to have two people raise them as well. My mother said to tell you she agrees with you whole- heartedly lol. Its all on the woman while no one considers the man!

      -Sherica

      • kingsmomma October 5, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

        I think I should Clarify,
        I don’t think it is ideal for a child to be raised in a single parent home and I agree with you that it takes two to make one so naturally two should raise one. There are things I can never show my child (i tried peeing standing up, doesn’t quite work the same).

        I am happy more attention is being garnered for this problem (unplanned unwed births) which seems to be on the rise, however, it just seems that all attention is always geared toward the “single mother”,
        even the term itself is misleading which is the reason I voiced a concern about the usage of choice A in the poll.
        When one refers to single motherhood, they are almost always excluding women made single by divorce and death to soley focus on the group of women who are left to raise their children alone i:e the child’s father left, not simply co-parenting. If that is the case, then single parenting becomes the de facto solution to the problem of absentee and deadbeat fathers.

      • shatterproofglassdolls October 6, 2010 at 9:18 am #

        Ahhhhh I see said the blind man lol (just a silly thing I say when I finally understand something). You make a very valid point (about single mothers also being divorcees or widowers). This article along with your comments are exactly what I wanted our readers to see, especially since our main target is young, black women. Thank you so much for sharing!!!!!

  3. Takeysha October 4, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    I would have to go with option A…I am a true believer in marriage before babies..my parents were not married but my grandparents have been for 54 yrs…its something that I have always respected and look forward to..my bf’s family is constantly asking when we are gonna have kids but NOBODY asks when we are gonna get married…i get so freakin mad by this cause im like where did we go wrong as a people that we think it is okay to just pop out babies without the stability of a two parent household

  4. Nikki October 8, 2010 at 3:24 am #

    Definitely A. Being a baby momma and wifey (girlfriend but offering all the benefits of a wife) is rampant among black women. When will we start to respect our bodies more?

  5. Kia October 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    The ideal is always a 2 parent home. Isn’t that what the brady bunch and good times taught us?🙂

  6. Trinika October 18, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

