1950’s Urban Chic!

14 Oct

Hey dolls, its me again! So yesterday being my only day off from work and school I was able to have some alone time all to myself.  During this alone time I usaully sleep in, watch t.v., eat, and study (yes, I know I’m blessed I thank God for it everyday)!   I also occasionally try out new hair doo’s!  While browsing on my computer, I was listening to some old time classics from the 40’s and 50’s and I suddenly felt inspired!  Heres what I came up with!

I rolled the front piece under instead of backwards which is usually what you would do in order to achieve a hump or pompadore.

I rolled both sides of my hair (after making sure my edges were held down and neat). You can use any gel that works best for you. Unlike my sister, Kinky Curly gel works great for me so thats what I used to hold my edges down. I finished tending to my edges by applying Organic Root Stimulator edge control. Then I gathered the hair to the back using my banana clip and tucking (or rolling) my ends underneath creating a kind of chignon. I secured the looked with hair pins for a neat well put together look!

This is a great protective style because it keeps your ends hidden while you take on the world!  I might get two days outta this look but thats cool!  One of the best things about natural hair is it’s versatility so I’m sure I can whip something up by then!  I hope you enjoyed ladies!

3 Responses to “1950’s Urban Chic!”

  1. ck October 15, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    love is am gonna try it when my hair is longer lol

  2. J.Nay October 21, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    This is sooo chic… I want to try it!! Did you create this style on blown out hair? Or did you stretch it out with a braid out?

    • shatterproofglassdolls October 21, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      Both actually! I washed it first, then blew it out. I did a braid out later to add some extra volume.

      -Sherica

Leave a Reply

